Einführungskurs: Assessments und Analysen in der Humanitären Hilfe

Englisch

November 2021

1 ECTS

CAS: Foundations of Humanitarian Action

Ziel des Kurses ist es, Dich mit den Prozessen, Fähigkeiten und Kenntnissen vertraut zu machen, die erforderlich sind, um Bewertungs- und Analyseprozesse (A&A) zu entwerfen und umzusetzen und die verfügbaren Informationen in humanitären Notsituationen sinnvoll zu nutzen. Daher baut der Kurs auf die breite Erfahrung von ACAPS (ursprünglich: "The Assessment Capacities Project”) auf und verwendet die Anleitungen der ACAPS Technical Briefs und des Leitfadens "Humanitarian Needs Assessment - The Good Enough Guide" (GEGA) als Hintergrund. Der pädagogische Ansatz folgt einer Mischung aus einleitenden Präsentationen und Gruppenarbeit, wobei virtuelle Break-out-Räume, gemeinsam genutzte Dokumente usw. verwendet werden.

Das Training ist Teil des Zertifikatsprogramms der aha und kann für ein Certificate of Advanced Studies im Bereich "Foundations of Humanitarian Action" angerechnet werden. Die Veranstaltung ist als Onlineveranstaltung vom 9. bis 11. November geplant, aufgrund der dynamischen Entwicklungen im Rahmen der Corona-Pandemie behalten wir uns jedoch vor, den Kurs als Präsenzveranstaltung durchzuführen. Hierzu werden alle Teilnehmenden rechtzeitig informiert

© Aktion Deutschland Hilft/Thorsten Thor

Das wirst du lernen

wie Du die Hauptaktivitäten in Bezug auf die verschiedenen Schritte des Analyse-Workflows beschreibt

wie Du einfache Technike zur Erfassung und Verarbeitung von Primär- und Sekundärdaten nutzen kannst

wie Du die verschiedenen Schritte des Analysespektrum und die unterschiedlichen Schwerpunkte, die es umfasst, erkennen kannst

wie Du die verschiedenen Schritte des Analysespektrums in der humanitären Bedarfsanalyse einsetzen kannst

Zielgruppe

Studierende und Absolvent_innen einschlägiger Fachrichtungen, Neu- und Quereinsteiger_innen, Mitarbeiter_innen humanitärer NRO in der humanitären Hilfe und/oder dem Projektmanagement im Headquarter und im Feld

Zeitplan

11:00 - 15:00

Key principles of A&A, and assessment preparedness

Basic principles & Assessment & Analysis (A&A) design

Exercise using Analysis Canvas

Humanitarian Needs Analysis & Analysis Frameworks

Exercise on Analysis Planning

Rolf M. Bakken

Kursleitung

Rolf M. Bakken hat mehr als 15 Jahre Erfahrung in der Katastrophenhilfe, vor allem im Bereich der akuten Nothilfe, Erstellung von Bedarfsanalysen und der Koordinierung von Nothilfeeinsätzen sowie im Bereich der Evaluierung und der Implementierung neuer Ansätze. Als Trainier beispielsweise für die UN, Globale Cluster, europäische Katastrophenschutzbehörden, nationale und internationale NGOs, Think Tanks und die Wissenschaft, setzt er auf partizipative Lernmethoden und handlungsbasiertes Lernen.

Auf seinen Einsätzen in Asien, im Mittleren Osten, in Afrika und der Karibik hat er in sowohl komplexe Krisen als auch Naturkatastrophen für UNDAC und ACAPS gearbeitet, zuletzt nach der Explosion am Hafen in Beirut im August 2020, wo er für ACAPS ein Remoteassessment durchführte, dessen Analysen die UNDAC Mission unterstützen.

450,00€

* Zur Deckung der Teilnahmegebühren kannst Du bei der Anmeldung einen Bildungsscheck des Landes NRW einreichen

09.11.2021 - 11.11.2021

10 Stunden Unterricht

Online-Kurs

Maximal 16 Teilnehmer

8 von 10 benötigten Registrierungen für diesen Kurs. Du wirst nach deiner Registrierung informiert. Teile diesen Kurs mit Freunden und Kollegen, damit er sicher stattfinden kann.

AnbieterDas Training wird durchgeführt von Aktion Deutschland Hilft e.V.

Introduction to Humanitarian Needs Assessments and Analysis

English

November 2021

1 ECTS

CAS: Foundations of Humanitarian Action

The course aims to introduce to you the processes, skills and knowledge required to design and implement Asessment and Analysis (A&A) processes and make sense of available information in humanitarian emergencies. Therefore, it relies on the broad experience of ACAPS (initially: "The Assessment Capacities Project”), using guidance from ACAPS Technical Briefs and the Humanitarian Needs Assessment – The Good Enough Guide (GEGA) as backdrops. The pedagogical approach will follow a mixture of introductory presentations and group work, using virtual break out rooms, shared folders, etc.

The course is part of the aha's certification scheme and can be credited towards a Certificate of Advanced Studies in the field "Foundations of Humanitarian Action". The course is planned as an online format from 9 to 11 November 2021, but due to the dynamic developments in the context of the Corona pandemic, it might be changed to an face-to-face event. Participants will be in due time before the training.

© Aktion Deutschland Hilft/Thorsten Thor

You will learn

how to describe main activities related to the various steps of the analysis workflow

how to use simple techniques to collect and process primary and secondary data

how to identify the different steps of the analysis spectrum and the different focal points it includes

how to use the different steps of the analysis spectrum in humanitarian needs assessments

Target group

Students and graduates of relevant disciplines, newcomers and career changers, staff of humanitarian NGOs with previous experience in humanitarian action and/or project management in the HQ or in the field

Schedule

11:00 - 15:00

Key Principles of A&A, and Assessment Preparedness

  • Basic principles & Assessment & Analysis (A&A) design
  • Exercise using Analysis Canvas
  • Humanitarian needs analysis & analysis frameworks
  • Exercise on analysis planning

Rolf M. Bakken

Lecturer

More than 15 years of experience with disaster management and humanitarian assistance, in particular with emergency response, needs analysis, and coordination of disaster operations. Works extensively with evaluations, methodology development, and training-design focusing on participatory learning methods and action-based learning.

Examples of clients range from UN-agencies, Global Clusters, EU Civil Protection agencies, international and national NGOs, non-profit think tanks and academia.

He has deployed to more several emergencies or humanitarian crises, both sudden onset disasters and complex emergencies for UNDAC or ACAPS. He has done missions in Asia-Pacific, Middle East, West, East and Southern Africa, and the Caribbean. Last mission was for ACAPS, doing remote assessment & analysis support to the UNDAC mission following the Beirut Port Explosion in August 2020.

450,00€

* To cover the fees you can upload an educational voucher of the state of NRW during the registration

09.11.2021 - 11.11.2021

10 hours of training

Online Event

Maximum of 16 attendees

3 of 10 required registration for this course. You will be informed after registration. Share this course with friends and colleagues to make sure it will be carried out.

ProviderThis training is organized by Aktion Deutschland Hilft e.V.